BBC SSO – Beethoven, Shostakovich, Adams

Live from City Halls, Glasgow

TV & Radio Information
BBC Radio 3
Thursday, December 12, 2013 - 19:30


Under chief conductor Donald Runnicles the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra presents a dazzling programme of works by Beethoven, Shostakovich and Adams.

Opening with Beethoven’s Fourth Symphony, the orchestra goes on to welcome James Ehnes to the stage to perform Shostakovich’s Violin Concerto No. 1.

After a 20-mintute interval BBC SSO performs Adams’s 2009 masterpiece, City Noir. Adams took inspiration from Kavin Starr’s series of books about the American dream, which paint Los Angeles as having ‘a certain sassy, savvy energy. It was, among other things, a Front Page kind of town where life was lived by many on the edge, and that made for good copy and good film noir’. Without it quoting from film noir soundtracks directly, you can hear that energy and jazz-orientated nod to 1940s LA in the work.

Presented by Jamie MacDougall.

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here