A Voyage of Invention | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

A Voyage of Invention | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Wednesday, May 1, 2019 - 19:30

This programme celebrates the rich music heritage of Romania, beginning with Enescu’s neo-classical Suite No 2, full of spirit and vigour from the composer’s homeland. Renowned violinist Alexandru Tomescu pairs Saint-Saëns's inventive and impressionistic Violin Concerto No 3 with a musical gem of sheer romantic indulgence by little-known Romanian composer Ciprian Porumbescu. Nicknamed the ‘Jupiter’, Mozart’s final symphony is a true eighteenth-century tour de force and widely regarded as the zenith of the Classical period.

This concert is kindly supported by the Romanian Cultural Institute.

Suite No 2 in D major
George Enescu (1881-1955)
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No 3 in B minor
Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)
Ballade for violin and orchestra
Ciprian Porumbescu (1853-1883)
Symphony No 41 in C, 'Jupiter'
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)


Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace
London SW1X 9DQ
United Kingdom
Event Information Box
£40, £32.50, £25, £15; booking fees may apply Available from 020 7730 4500 .
Venue URI: 
Purchase URI: 
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here