Orchestra of the Swan: Peter Donohoe plays Mozart's Piano Concerto No 25

Orchestra of the Swan: Peter Donohoe plays Mozart's Piano Concerto No 25

Tuesday, April 30, 2019 - 19:30

This journey across the ages is also the exemplification of melody and passion: from Tallis’s unforgettable 450-year-old psalm-tune (heard through early-twentieth-century ears) through the last of Mozart’s twelve renowned Viennese piano concertos (only, though, becoming part of the repertoire in the late twentieth-century) to one of the most glorious of modern symphonies (Wilfrid Mellers wrote that this was “music imbued with what one can only call greatness of soul… the consummation of the lifetime’s work of a great and good man” ). Additionally, we can experience how Vaughan Williams’s career progressed – or, more accurately, was progressing… – because, even at the age of seventy, the Fifth wasn’t the large-scale farewell that had been expected: there were four more such works still to be composed!

Fantasia on a theme by Thomas Tallis
Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958)
Symphony No 5 in D
Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958)
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 25 in C
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)


Stratford ArtsHouse
Rother Street
Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6LU
United Kingdom
Event Information Box
£9.50-£29.50 Available from 01789 403 493 10am to 5pm.
Venue URI: 
Purchase URI: 
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here