Musical Homelands | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Musical Homelands | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Thursday, March 5, 2020 - 19:30

The patriotic sympathies of Sibelius led him to create some of his most enduring music, and tonight’s opener, the Karelia Suite, perfectly encapsulates the musical spirit of his home country, Finland. Bruch’s Violin Concerto No 1 with Latvian violinist Kristine Balanas, a musician of ‘eye-popping virtuosity’ (The Times) who has enthralled audiences on the global stage as a young rising star.

Rachmaninov, who had long left Russia since the 1917 Revolution, composed his Symphony No 3 during his self-exile. The unashamed romanticism of the piece is merged with the influence of haunting plainchant and moments of disruption in its melodies, unsettling the music and resulting in a strange melancholic yearning in the search for a true homeland.

Karelia Suite
Jean Sibelius (1865-1957)
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No 1 in G minor
Max Bruch (1838-1920)
Symphony No 3 in A minor
Sergey Rachmaninov (1873-1943)


Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace
London SW1X 9DQ
United Kingdom
Event Information Box
£40, £32.50, £25, £15 Available from 020 7730 4500 .
Venue URI:
Purchase URI:
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here