Morgan Szymanski (guitar) and Benyounes Quartet

Morgan Szymanski (guitar) and Benyounes Quartet

Sunday, May 26, 2019 - 18:30

Mexican guitarist Morgan Szymanski was highlighted as ‘one to watch’ by Gramophone magazine. For his second Conway Hall concert, he comes together with the Benyounes Quartet in a programme spanning more than two hundred years, including his own arrangements of Piazzolla and Puccini’s Cristantemi, composed in a single night in 1890, in response to the death of the Duke of Savoy.

There will also be a short audience question and answer session with the musicians after the performance.

Chamber Concerto for lute, 2 violins and continuo in D
Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)
Cantabile in D for violin and guitar
Niccolò Paganini (1782-1840)
Giacomo Puccini (1858-1924)
Quintet for guitar and strings in D major 'Fandango'
Luigi Boccherini (1743-1805)
La oració del torero (The bullfighter's prayer)
Joaquin Turina (1882-1949)
Scènes de bal, for string quartet
Thierry Escaich (1965-)
L'histoire du tango (History of Tango)
Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992)


Conway Hall
25 Red Lion Square
Holborn WC1R 4RL
United Kingdom
Event Information Box
£10 online, £12 on the door, or free for those aged 8-25
Venue URI:
Purchase URI:
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here