Bartosz Glowacki (accordion)

Bartosz Glowacki (accordion)

Sunday, January 21, 2018 - 16:00

Glowacki was born in Poland and has become a leading light amongst the younger generation of classical accordionists.He has a passion for his instrument and is working to raise awareness of the accordion and contribute to the development of new repertoire.

He studied under Professor Andrzej Smolik in the National Music School in Sanok, and went on to the Royal Academy of Music where he graduated in 2015 with a first class diploma and Regency Award. He is still there, studying for a Masters Degree.

He won the Polish Young Musicians of the Year in 2009 and has won many prizes in both national and international music competitions. He is a recipient of the Countess of Munster Musical Trust, the John Hosier Special Award 2015 and the Zygmunt Zaleski Foundation.

As a soloist, he has performed in some prestigious concert halls and has premiered compositions. He is an extremely active chamber musician being the founder of the Deco Ensemble described as an “exceptional ensemble of the highest calibre”. He has also collaborated with well known musicians such as Nigel Kenndy, Dave Maric, Trevor Pinnock.. and also at institutions such as the Royal Opera House, The Philharmonia Orchestra and many others.

Bartosz was awarded a place in the Open Space Scheme in 2015-16 in Aldeburgh where he had a residency to conduct innovative projects with accordion music and was also selected as one of the six City Music Foundation Artists in 2016.

Fiona Maddocks from the Observer said: "for me the coup de foudre was Bartosz Glowacki… the young Pole creates a poignant and distinctive sound world."

This concert is supported by the Countess of Munster Trust. The programme is subject to change and will be updated if we have advance notice!

Sonata for keyboard in E minor, arranged for accordion
Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757)
The destroyed cathedral
Václav Trojan (1907-1983)
Pari intervallo
Arvo Pärt (1935-)
De Profundis for Bayan
Sofia Gubaidulina (1931-)
Oboe Concerto in D minor
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992)
Sequenza XIII for accordion
Luciano Berio (1925-2003)
Five Views on Gulag Archipelago
Victor Vlasov (1936-)
Concerto for Violin and Strings No 4 in F minor, 'Winter' RV 297 from Le Quattro Stagioni, 'The Four Seasons'
Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741)


Constable Hall
Gandish Road
East Bergholt CO7 6TP
United Kingdom
51° 58' 17.6232" N, 1° 1' 40.8036" E
Event Information Box
£14, children16 and under free with adult, students £7 Available from 01206 298426 .
Venue URI:
Purchase URI:
Javascript is required to view this map.
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here